Council District 5

   Honorable Jennifer Van Vrancken   
Councilwoman, District 5

Council District 5 Map


Jennifer Van Vrancken began serving the people of Council District 5-- including Metairie, Old Metairie, Fat City and Bucktown-- in January of 2016.

Previously, Jennifer served as Chief Operating Officer of Jefferson Parish, overseeing every department of parish government and a $580 million budget. That experience uniquely enables her to make government work for its people.

In her time on the Council, Jennifer has authored several impactful pieces of legislation. She created a level playing field for transportation network companies (like Uber and Lyft) to begin operating in Jefferson Parish alongside traditional taxicabs. She brought the program of painting utility boxes to unincorporated Jefferson. She launched a 50/50 matching fund to collaborate with civic groups to install crime cameras. She created the “Do Not Toss” List where residents can sign up not to have free newspaper circulars tossed on their lawns, which communities across the state are emulating.

Her efforts are award winning:

  • LDEQ honored her “Do Not Toss” legislation with a 2019 Environmental Leadership Program Recognition Award
  • The Louisiana Garden Club Federations selected Metairie for the first time ever as the “Cleanest City” Contest State Winner 2019.
  • Alliance for Good Government named Jennifer as 2018 Legislator of the Year

Jennifer is an attorney (Tulane School of Law), former television journalist, Newcomb graduate and alumna of the Academy of the Sacred Heart. She is born and raised in Metairie. She learned her work ethic from her parents at their family business, The Balcony Ballroom.

Jennifer is happily married to Metairie native and attorney Stephen Dwyer. She is blessed with five fabulous stepchildren and four grandchildren. Stephen and Jennifer reside in the home they designed and built in Old Metairie.


East Bank Location
Joseph S. Yenni Building
1221 Elmwood Park Blvd., 10th Floor
Jefferson, LA 70123-2337
Office: 736-6634
Fax: 736-6632

To send an email message, click on the appropriate link below.

Jennifer Van Vrancken, Councilwoman, District 5
Jeffrey Simno, Chief of Staff District 5
Lauren E. Averill, P.E., Council Aide:
Office Staff, District 5:

Stay connected to receive valuable neighborhood information!