Juliette Cassagne
Juliette Cassagne, Director

Joseph S. Yenni Building
1221 Elmwood Park Blvd., Suite 601
Jefferson, LA 70123
Phone Numbers:
Current Planning         (504) 736-6320
Long Range Planning   (504) 736-6354
Fax                            (504) 736-4560

Contact Planning

Contact Planning Department

COVID-19 UPDATE 3/23/2020: In an effort to comply with COVID-19 requests for social distancing, the Jefferson Parish Planning Department will be accepting applications and submitted revisions via email and regular mail only.  Staff will not be available for in person meetings. Instead, please use the link above to contact our office with any questions regarding applications.  Fillable pdf applications are available on the Code of Ordinances page.




The Jefferson Parish Planning Department is involved in planning and development regulatory activities in the unincorporated areas* of Jefferson Parish, including:

  Avondale Harvey River Ridge  
  Barataria Jefferson Terrytown  
  Bridge City Lafitte Waggaman  
  Elmwood Marrero Woodmere  
  Estelle Metairie    

*For planning information concerning the municipalities of Grand Isle, Gretna, Harahan, Jean Lafitte, Kenner, and Westwego, click here.

The Current Planning Division of the Planning Department is divided into two sections, Eastbank and Westbank, which accept applications for the following activities subject to a review process:

The Long-Range Division of the Planning Department maintains the Unified Development Code, the Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance, and the Comprehensive Plan. By conducting  studies and other types of research, the department makes recommendations to the Parish Council and other decision-makers responsible for the parish’s long- and short-term growth and development.

The Planning Department also furnishes technical planning assistance to the Parish Administration and other parish government departments, collaborates with the Regional Planning Commission regarding issues affecting Jefferson Parish, and maintains the zoning, future land use, and parcel maps housed in the Parish’s Geographic Information System (GIS).